[CODATA-international] CODATA Prize 2016, deadline 11 July

Asha CODATA asha at codata.org
Thu Jun 9 01:50:08 EDT 2016

*CODATA Prize 2016 to Recognise Outstanding Achievement in Advancing the
Availability, Quality and Use of Data for Research*

The CODATA Prize is made every two years at our conference. It is a major
award which recognises outstanding achievement in advancing the
availability, quality and use of data for research.

The 2016 CODATA Prize will be presented at SciDataCon 2016
<http://www.scidatacon.org/2016>, 12-13 September 2016, Denver, Colorado,
USA.  SciDataCon 2016 is part of International Data Week, a major event for
the global research data community.  The recipient of the Prize will be
presented with a commemorative artwork and will also receive financial
support to travel to Denver to deliver a Prize lecture at SciDataCon 2016.

Past prize winners include Prof. Sydney R. Hall
Professor Michael F. Goodchild
<http://www.codata.org/events/codata-prize/2012-michael-f-goodchild-usa>, Dr.
Paul Uhlir
Prof. Liu Chuang
Dr. John Rumble
<http://www.codata.org/events/codata-prize/2006-john-rumble-usa>, Prof.
Jean Bonnin
<http://www.codata.org/events/codata-prize/2004-jean-bonnin-france>, and Dr.
Barry Taylor

Nominations, using the attached form
should be sent to Simon Hodson, CODATA Executive Director simon at codata.org.
The deadline for nominations is 11 July 2016.

In addition to recognising outstanding achievement in advancing the
availability, quality and use of data for research, the CODATA Prize:

·    is given in recognition either of a one time achievement or of an
achievement over time;

·    is given, in preference, to an individual;

·    recognises work carried out in areas of importance to the CODATA
mission, such as data management, evaluation, dissemination, access issues,
international cooperation, knowledge discovery, archiving or related

Nominations should be sure to address these criteria.

*Nomination Procedure*

Nominations may be made by CODATA National and Union Members, Supporting
Organisations and Task Groups and should use the attached form.

*CODATA Prize 2016 Committee*

The CODATA Prize 2016 Committee is composed of:

·    Geoffrey Boulton, CODATA President

·    Takashi Gojobori, CODATA Vice-President

·    Niv Ahituv, CODATA Vice-President

·    Sara Graves, CODATA Secretary General

·    John Broome, CODATA Treasurer
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.codata.org/pipermail/codata-international_lists.codata.org/attachments/20160609/e2ff9ddc/attachment-0002.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: CODATA Prize 2016 Announcement.rtf
Type: application/msword
Size: 71781 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://lists.codata.org/pipermail/codata-international_lists.codata.org/attachments/20160609/e2ff9ddc/attachment.doc>

More information about the CODATA-international mailing list